Our team

In Australia, JCJ is run entirely by volunteers. We have a core group which meets weekly in Melbourne to do the ‘nuts and bolts work’, volunteers who take on occasional or ad hoc tasks, and a committee and advisory group. Some of our key volunteers are listed below.

Jim Crosthwaite

Jim is a co-founder of JCJ and is currently chair of the governing committee. After lecturing in the economics of climate change and forming the Safe Climate Economics Group, he began to personally offset emissions in ways that tested alternative possibilities. Jim has worked as an environmental economist since 1988 and has recently become a teacher of the Alexander Technique.

Kanchana Weerakoon

Kanchana is a co-founder of JCJ and currently deputy chairperson. She is a renowned Sri Lankan ecologist with more than 15 years of local and international conservation experience. Kanchana came up with the idea of the Kelani River Journey as a way of building momentum for action on climate change. Kanchana is the founder, president and spokesperson for Sri Lankan volunteer-based environmental organisation ECO-V.

Jack Schmidt

Jack is secretary of the JCJ committee. He is a mechanical engineer with many years of experience working for environmental groups. He co-founded the Mullum Branch of ACF, is a longstanding member of Environment Victoria, and has been actively involved in many environmental movements such as the Franklin River and Errinundra Plateau campaigns.

Colin Long

Colin is the Victorian secretary of the National Tertiary Education Union. He was formerly Director of the Cultural Heritage Centre for Asia and the Pacific at Deakin University. He has written about and worked in Vietnam and Laos, in the fields of heritage, tourism and poverty alleviation.


Charith Siriwardana

Libby Zerna

Mahashweta Mukherjee

Udara Dissanayake


And thanks to…

JCJ benefits enormously from the contribution of members and volunteers, and would like to acknowledge and thank the generous support of people like

  • Anne Martinelli
  • Athula Bogoda
  • Barbara Baird
  • Ben Walta
  • Charmaine Chew
  • Chester Li
  • Daniel Bladh
  • David Green
  • Dulshan Wijayasinghe
  • Fadia Hasan
  • Heather Anderson
  • Helen Dobbyn
  • Holly Dillabough
  • Jackie Scally
  • jacqueline O’Donnell
  • Jeremy Aarons
  • John Lawrence
  • John Wiseman
  • Joy Langham
  • Julia Stanley
  • Karen Weaver
  • Karina Donkers
  • Linda Gale
  • Michael Chew
  • Mick Varga
  • Pat Kirkby
  • Pascale Pitot
  • Rob Law
  • Rory Goethel
  • Samanthi Gunawardana
  • Sandra Edmonds
  • Sarah Lumley
  • Scarlett Killaly
  • Sean O’Rourke
  • Stef Kuypers
  • Thushara Ranasinghe
  • Viveka de Costa
  • Wasana Weeraratne


Interested in joining us?

Email or send a message from our Contact page.

Go to top of page